San Francisco's Community Stabilization
Cultural Stabilization

Economic Development

Policy and Program Inventory

Photo courtesy of MOHCD

The Office of Economic and Workforce Development (OEWD) is a department within the City and County of San Francisco focused on advancing equitable and shared prosperity for San Franciscans by growing sustainable jobs, supporting businesses of all sizes, creating great places to live and work, and helping everyone achieve economic self-sufficiency. The City is committed to equitable outcomes and the strategies implemented are designed to achieve a diverse, equitable, and inclusive city.

Collectively, the department has seven divisions with that are responsible for strengthening San Francisco’s many diverse neighborhoods and commercial corridors, curating a business climate where companies and small businesses can grow and prosper, creating and connecting residents to good-paying careers, and ensuring a continually high quality of life for all San Franciscans. The seven divisions include: Office of Small Business, Film SF, Workforce Development, Shared Services, Invest In Neighborhoods, Joint Development and Business Development. Together the seven divisions provide programs and policies to support workforce development, business attraction and retention, neighborhood commercial revitalization, international business and development planning. One of the department’s goals is to support diverse and vibrant neighborhoods by strengthening and investing in small businesses, nonprofits, community organizations, commercial corridors and public spaces.