

SAN FRANCISCO PLANNING DEPARTMENT

MEMO

DATE:

June 11, 2010

TO:

Interested Parties

FROM:

Linda Avery

Planning Commission Secretary

RE:

Planning Commission Action - No. DRA-0149

1650 Mission St. Suite 400 San Francisco, CA 94103-2479

Reception: 415.558.6378

Fax:

415.558.6409

Planning Information: 415,558.6377

Property Address:

Building Permit Application No.

Discretionary Review Case No.

2139 Taraval Street

2009.12.03.2572

2010.0018D

On May 20, 2010, the Planning Commission conducted a Discretionary Review hearing to consider the following project:

<u>2139 TARAVAL STREET</u> - south side between 31st and 32nd Avenues; Lot 042 in Assessor's Block 2394 - **Mandatory Discretionary Review** of Building Permit Application No. 2009.12.03.2572 for a change of use of the vacant ground floor space, previously a chiropractors' office to a medical cannabis dispensary (d.b.a. "Bay Area Compassion Health Centers, Inc.") per Planning Code Section 790.141 in an NC-2 (Neighborhood Commercial, Small-Scale) District and RUSD (Taraval Restaurant and Fast Food Sub-District).

ACTION

The Commission agreed with the Department's recommendation to take Discretionary Review and approve with the conditions that

Hours of operation shall be Monday to Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Sundays from 3:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

The Project Sponsor may request to extend the hours of operation to open at 9 a.m. and close at 10 p.m. Mondays through Saturdays after six months of operation and may be approved by the Zoning Administrator, provided there have not been any complaints or violations on the subject property.

FINDINGS

The reasons the Commission took this action described above includes:

• The proposal meets the Criteria for establishing a Medical Cannabis Dispensary as outlined in Planning Code Section 790.141.

Speakers at the hearing included:

	1
In support of the project:	In support of DR Request Opposed Project:
Paul Hansbury	Supervisor Carmen Chu
Connie Taylor	Alisa Berkowitz
Edwin Bresein	Wendy
Nicholas Lau	Sonia Ng
Susan Tibbon	Pauline Ha
Linda Shah	Peter Wong
Nancy Dicianni	Nora Speirs
Alfred Martinez	Richard Moy
Eric Goebel	Herbert
Janet Hough	Sharon Moy
Andrew Hagman	Ellen Conaway
Richard Bruni	William Conaway
Roy Jarl	Yang Yi
Aaron Michael Zimmerman	Jim Chon
Morningstar Lennon	Katie Girlieh
Rev. Khevan	Lisa Tsang
Josephine Guerra	Grace Chan
Wyman Chen	Sammy Au
Heather Hall	Bryant Woo
Anne E.W. Doherty	Kuo-In Chang
Ionni Ann Muicht	
Jerri Ann Wright	Fan-Chun chang

James W. Fichett	Clay Foster
Marion Dorning	Tom Fong
Alex Escalante	Tom Orgain
Eddy Robinson	Jane Gamp
Zachary Richard	Cammy Blackstone
Joe Schepp	Terry Fong
Pete Heine	Billy Thach
Brian K. Ford	Awadalla
Eric Goebel	Bill Tam
Russell Kyle	Wei Hong Liu
Gregory Ledbetter	Gary Wong
Richard Watts	Rose Tsai
Orlon Ryel	Shu Hwa Ho
Michael Goldman	Johnson Chiu
Hector Torres Sr.	Yumi Sam
Maureen Burns	Nicholas Young
Theresa Cooper	Carole Young
Catherine A. Smith	Linh Ly
Christine Moyes	Kelly Yip
Kerry Stoll	Lucy Wong
Gilbert C	Betsy Fong
Daniel	Shirley Van
Jonathan Beaver	Jane Chan
Albert Blais	Michelle Lam

Floyd Rowry	Anna Louie
Nick Hochberg	Lay – Beng Ho
Alex Straus	Kim Yee
Denise Dorey	Frankie Young
Christine Wagner	Ai-Man Amy Tang
Chad Conner	Ashley Summers
Stewart Rhoads	Kathy Tang
John Martinelli	Wen Liu
Max Leroy	Elaine He
Sandy Cheng	Betty Gee
Gabriel Martin	Carrie Chan
Shona	Bill Lai
Cathy Smith	Hal Cochrane
Ivette Fernandez	Anthony Tam
Michaele	Kuo Jea
Amy Hui	Sue C. Yee
Analch Sil Rama	Lo Lan Chau
Eamon Ward	Helen Lam
Katrina Haverkamp	Chang Ding Huang
Edward Davis	Grace Pang
Kevin Delany	Phuong Lu
	Yee Mei Tang
	Wei Gung Wu
	Cecilia Ng

	Marilyn Moffett
	Betty Yep
	Sophia Chen
	Allan Sam
	Dallas Udouch
	Yingxia Lin
	Yue You Tian
	Peter Chow
	Cathren Koehlert
	Monica Landeros
	Lucy Ho
	Bill Chui
	Nancy Chin
	Tommy Au
	Kit Chong
	Greg Star
	Bill Gotu
	James A. O'Connor
	Ester Maria Abarca
	Theresa Martin
	Arthur Cecchin
	Loretta Bi
	William Tsang
	Lam
ı ·	1

Ayes:

Commissioners Alexander, Olague, S. Lee, Moore, Sugaya

Nayes:

Commissioner W. Lee

Absent:

Commissioner Antonini

Case Planner: Delvin Washington (415) 558-6443

You can appeal the Commission's action to the Board of Appeals by appealing the issuance of the permit. Please contact the Board of Appeals at (415) 575-6880 for further information regarding the appeals process.

cc:

Linda Avery